“Waiting is Active Trust”

Today is my 22nd birthday. {This is the year that I get married!} I am overwhelmed by the Lord’s goodness and rejoicing in what He had done in my life. As I reflect over this past year, I recall with a bittersweetness what the Lord has taught me. Through my struggles in learning to wait on the Lord, I have tasted the bitterness of my sinful heart and the sweetness of the Lord’s mercy and grace. This past year I kept a journal of the lessons that I learned while waiting. Here are some of the things that I learned:

  • 01/08 – Struggles bring us to our knees. Phil. 4:6
  • 1/11 – Self-control takes hard work. Col. 3:5, Gal. 5:23
  • 1/22 – If God didn’t think that this was the best situation for His glory & my sanctification, He would not have ordained it. Rom. 8:28
  • 1/24 – You can’t merely ask for help abstaining from future sin, you have to repent of old sin. 1 John 1:9
  • 3/15 – I am so weak in my flesh. 2 Cor. 12:9
  • 3/15 – I cannot find my joy, solace, or comfort inany person. Only Christ will satisfy me. Psalm 16:11; 17:15; Phil. 4:19
  • 4/22 – Satan wants me to be discouraged, frustrated, & hopeless because then my eyes are off Christ. 1 Pet. 5:8, 2 Cor. 11:3
  • 5/15 – My purpose in life is to glorify Christ. I cannot find purpose in anything besides that. 1 Cor. 10:31, Ecc. 12:13, 1 Cor. 6:20, Ps. 86:9
  • 5/20 – My struggles are not about me or even my sanctification. They are about God’s glorification. 2 Cor. 12:9-10
  • 5/20 – Marriage is not the “end all and be all.” (John Piper) The end all is Christ. Marriage is just a way to bring glory to Him and to represent Christ and HIs bride. Eph. 5:22-33
  • 5/20 – I have to persevere in fighting sin. Giving up is what Satan wants me to do. James 1:2-4, 12-18
  • 5/30 – Godliness with contentment is great gain. It is easy to conform one’s behavior with what is “Christianly”. It is much harder to control one’s mind and heart and to surrender it to God’s will for your life. 1 Tim. 6:6
  • 06/08 – The just will live by faith. Hab. 2:4
  • 7/24 – There is nothing good that I can do. Is. 64:6, Rom. 3:23
  • 8/16 – “I need Thee, oh, I need Thee; every hour I need Thee.” I need Christ every moment of the day. I can do nothing apart from Him. Phil. 4:19
  • 8/16 – “Perseverance is the great test of genuineness in the Christian life.” (John Piper) I must persevere in prayer, be alert in my prayer, and be thankful in my prayer. Col. 4:2
  • 10/20 – “If you love Me, you will keep My commandments.” Christ’s command is very straight forward. A lack of obedience = a lack of love for Christ. John 14:15

Application:

  • Keep a journal of the lessons that the Lord has taught you. Try writing down one a week or recapping what you learned at the end of the semester. It is incredibly sweet to see how the Lord has worked in your life.
Share your thoughts

