Wrapped with a Robe of Righteousness

“I will rejoice greatly in the Lord, my soul will exult in my God; For He has clothed me with garments of salvation, He has wrapped me with a robe of righteousness, As a bridegroom decks himself with a garland, And as a bride adorns herself with jewels.” ~ Isaiah 61:10

I came across this passage this morning in my study of Isaiah and found it extremely fitting for what I have been pondering lately. Obviously, since my wedding is in two days, weddings and marriage have been on my mind a lot. I am humbled that the Lord would allow me the privilege of marrying Nicholas Melonas, but what I am even more humbled by is His gift of salvation.

On Saturday, I will stand up at the front of the church wearing white – the most expensive dress I have ever owned! That white dress has an incredibly powerful imagery! When Christ saved me, He clothed me in the garments of salvation. He gave me the best, most lavish gift He could possibly give. He wrapped me in the robe of righteousness and purified me to be as white as snow. I get to stand up there in Saturday clothed in white – not because I have done anything to deserve an expensive gift or done anything to be made holy – but because HE has paid the price and made atonement for MY sins! I am truly humbled by that fact!

Application:

  • For those who are saved, rejoice that He has clothed you in a lavish gift!
  • For those who are not saved, recognize that you are a sinner in need of a Savior, realize that Jesus is the ONLY one who can clothe you in righteousness, and repent of your sins!
Share your thoughts

