The Cookie with Many Names

Image

Since I shared a yucky recipe yesterday, I thought I would redeem myself and share a yummy one with you today! 🙂

Today’s recipe is a family favorite of mine! I come from a really large family and they could literally eat this plate clean in a couple minutes. In my family, we called them Mexican Wedding cookies. I am not sure why, honestly. I don’t know if they have anything to do with Mexico or weddings! I have heard them called Mexican Weddings Cakes also. One of my friend’s calls them snowballs which is a pretty suitable name. Additionally, I read that they are also called Russian Tea cakes. Whatever is the actual name for these cookies, they are delicious. Here is how to make them:

Mexican Wedding Cookie Recipe

Mexican Wedding Cookies

1 cup butter

½ cup powdered sugar

2 cup flour

2 tablespoon vanilla

Mix it all together. Roll into very small balls (I roll out and bake the whole tray at the same time. They don’t expand very much). Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes or until they start to get golden brown on the bottom. Roll in sifted powdered sugar as soon as you take them out of the oven, being careful as they break easily. Allow them to cool, then re-roll in powdered sugar coating generously.

Variations: Add some chopped pecans to the dough for a nutty cookie. For a Christmas variation, add peppermint extract to the dough and sprinkle crushed candy canes on the baked cookies. Yum!

I would love to hear what my readers call these cookies! Do you call them Mexican Wedding Cookies or something different?

One thought on “The Cookie with Many Names

  1. We call them Russian tea cakes and put pulverized almonds in the dough. My mother in law called them snowballs as well 🙂

Share your thoughts

