Encouragement for the Monday Morning Blues

Weekends are my favorite time of the week. On the weekends I get to do all of my favorite things in the course of a couple days – spend time with my husband, work on my home, see my family, and fellowship with believers. I don’t think that I am alone in wishing that the weekend could always last one more day.

On Monday mornings, I have to do battle with my attitude. I have to work hard to have a Christ-like heart. This morning I was reminded about a quote that I used in a paper about Perseverance in college. Joni Eareckson Tada faced much harder things than I ever have. Be encouraged by her wisdom this morning:

“…I was really surprised by what a fiery ordeal this chemotherapy was. Like, “Lord, is all this just to move me up a few notches on the scale of spiritual maturity? Isn’t quadriplegia and chronic pain enough? And now this cancer?” You don’t have to be in a wheelchair to understand. It could be arthritis in your back or a dead end job or a difficult marriage, a migraine that won’t quit or loneliness that keeps you up at night, anxiety, fears. You could be tired of refereeing rowdy teenagers, whatever. You know as well as I do that when pain lumbers through the front door and squats right down in the middle of your life and makes itself at home day after day, year after year, you can almost crack. But as many times as I have felt like cracking, Hebrews chapter 12 keeps reminding me. Now, listen to this. It says, “You and I have yet to struggle to the point of shedding blood. So consider Him (that’s Jesus) who endured such opposition from sinful men so that you (now get this) so you do not grow weary or lose heart” (verses 4-5, paraphrased).” Joni Eareckson Tada

We have not struggled to the point of shedding blood. But Christ has. And He is our great High Priest who sympathizes with us and gives us strength! What a wonderful comfort when faced with the Monday morning blues!

What are some truths you remind yourself of when it is hard to persevere?


Application: 

– Read Hebrews 12:1-4. Pray that the Lord would fix your eyes on Him.

One thought on “Encouragement for the Monday Morning Blues

  1. This was very encouraging, especially heading into finals week! Thanks for sharing! A verse that always helps me persevere is I Corinthians 15:58 – “Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing your toil is not in vain in the Lord.” It’s so nice knowing that when we work hard to bring God glory, it will never be in vain, no matter how mundane the task at hand.

Share your thoughts

