Confessions of a New Bride

Image

Photo taken by Haley Dennis – Click on the picture for more information about her!

 These past three months being married have been the most wonderful months of my life! I get to spend every day laughing and learning with with the love of my life! Even though we got married in the middle of his first semester of seminary, we wouldn’t trade these past few months for anything.

That is not to say that this semester has not had its challenges. It definitely has. The hardest part for me has not been adjusting to living with my husband (he is so gracious and kind that living with him is a complete joy), but learning that I do not have to live up to my expectations.

I think that every new wife is eager to have a perfect home. I put a lot of pressure on myself at first to have a super clean home, to decorate, and to make wonderful meals. It was a big challenge because I was still working 31 hours a week and managing an apartment complex with my husband.

But my gracious spouse pointed out that he does not care about those things nor does he expect me to do them. He only cares that I am growing in my relationship with the Lord. The only one that had expectations was me. 

This semester (and I imagine I will be learning this the rest of my life) I have been learning to be faithful. The Lord {and my husband} are looking for faithfulness. From the biggest to the smallest thing, I need to be diligent to do what the Lord has called me to do. If the bed does not get made, that doesn’t matter. What matters is that I am pursuing a relationship with my Heavenly Father and that I am doing what He wants me to do by loving my husband. At the end of my life, I pray I hear, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

Application: 

– What expectations do you have that are keeping you from a right relationship with the Lord? Is it your expectations to have a perfect home or perfect grades? Give those things over to the Lord and ask Him to help you to be faithful rather than perfect.

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a New Bride

  1. Courtney, I couldn’t be more proud of you. I appreciate your desire to please God first. You are truly becoming more like Christ. I have so much to learn from you!!

    • Perect??? what is perfect in this world except God’s Word?
      Unrealistic expectations and “perfection” is one of the adversaries big lies. It is to rob you of your present joy and give glory to God no matter how the bread turns out or not having time to finish the chores on schedule.
      As you pursue your relationship with The Lord, you will find a natural renewed relationship with Nick, that’s God’s plan to climb the golden chain.
      You ARE a faithful servant., That’s one of your spiritual gifts, and yes, you WILL be honored with “wecome, good and faithful servant”
      All praise to our Lord Jesus Christ for providing such a servant to His church as you.
      By the way, don’t worry about your design, you will find in several years your taste will change. You may just go an oppisite direction, and then? what will I do with all this stuff? what was I thinking? ( my first project, everything, and I mean EVERTHING in the house was Aqua!!) What was I thinking!!..
      Love, Grandma Shaw

Share your thoughts

