Working Girl Recipes – Black Bean Soup

ImageMy husband and I both work two jobs and he is in graduate school. Needless to say, I don’t have a ton of time to spend cooking and even if I do have the time I am not home to do it. So I have loved the Slow Cooker Bible – you might even say I read it religiously! 😉 I love that I am able to throw some things in the morning and come home to nutritious ready-to-go meal. This black bean soup recipe has been one of our favorites from this book:

No-Chop Black Bean Soup

3 Cans (about 15 ounces each) black beans, rinsed and drained

1 package (12 ounces) frozen diced green bell peppers, thawed

2 cups frozen onion, thawed

2 cans (about 14 ounces each) chicken broth

1 can (14 1/2 ounces) diced tomatoes with pepper, celery and onion, undrained

1 teaspoon bottled minced garlic

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin, divided

2 tablespoons olive oil

3/4 teaspoon salt

1. Combine beans, bell peppers, onions, broth, tomatoes with juice, garlic, and 1 teaspoon cumin the slow cooker.

2. Cover; cook on LOW 8 to 10 hours or on HIGH 4 to 5 hours.

3. Stir in oil, salt and remaining 1/2 teaspoon of cumin just before serving.

Makes 8 servings.

I make a few changes to this recipe though. First of all, you don’t have to use canned or frozen vegetables. If it is easier for you to use canned/frozen, by all means, go for it! However, I usually don’t have the right canned/frozen vegetables on hand, so I generally use fresh. It is more nutritious that way too. I substitute fresh tomatoes, peppers, and onions. I just add extra water because I am not using canned tomatoes.

Another way I make this recipe healthier is by soaking my beans over night. I rinse my beans and put them in the crock pot filled with water and a tablespoon or two of vinegar or lemon juice. Then in the morning I drain and rinse the beans and use them in my recipe. If you don’t know why you should soak your beans, read this article. Eat soup with a slice of bread and you have a vegetarian meal with complete protein! Enjoy!

Image

Photo from Keri Lynn Ford Blog

Share your thoughts

