Little Failures // Big Successes

Image

This past week has been one of the busiest weeks.  I am so tired that I can hardly think straight! And my body feels like I just got finished horse-back riding! This blog post is a conglomeration (I am surprised that I came up with that word due to my tired state!!) of some of the high points and low points of my week.

  • High Point: The wedding that I coordinated this weekend went incredibly well! Praise the Lord for that!
  • Low Point: I made a meal this week where I LITERALLY burnt every dish I was cooking. I had gotten a little distracted when the phone rang. My husband still thought  everything was great! He is either really in love or has no taste buds… I prefer the first one! 😉
  • High Point: My brother and sister got baptized last night. It was a beautiful proclamation of the redeeming work that Christ has done in their lives.
  • Low Point: I was “grooming” the carpet in the vacant unit we have in our building (I didn’t even know that carpet groomers existed before this week) and it totally disintegrated in my hands. See the picture above for proof. It was kind of humorous!
  • High Point: My husband surprised me and is taking me to Disneyland on Friday! We are so excited!
  • Low Point: The end of the busy-ness does not seem to be in sight. We had hoped that when school got out for my husband that things would settle down. Little did we know that we would end up with two vacancies in our building (we are apartment managers) and things would be even crazier.

I surprise myself how easily I forget the good things that the Lord has done. But when I am tempted to be frustrated or to dwell on the bad things, I remember two truths:

  1. Hard things are “momentary, light affliction” in light of eternity. {2 Corinthians 4:17} The things that we have to look forward to in Heaven are so outstanding that any hardship here on earth dims in comparison. 
  2. “His mercies are new every morning.” {Lamentations 3:22-23}  I had a Bible professor in college who explained to us that this word for “new” in this passage meant something entirely new that had never been seen before. That means that every day the Lord gives entirely new mercies that are uniquely created for that day’s needs! I am blown away by that!

I would love to hear some of the high or low points from your week! Comment on this post and tell me how you remind yourself of the good that the Lord is doing in your life. He has already accomplished the greatest success of all – dying on the cross and rising again!

Application: 

– When you are tempted to dwell on the bad stuff in your life, fill your mind with His truth. Read Lamentations. The prophet Jeremiah wrote this while he watched his city burn. These truths are so much sweeter when you know the pain he was going through.

Share your thoughts

