Working Girl Recipes – Biscuits and Gravy

Image

As a new wife, I have been trying a lot of new recipes. Some of my recipes have been utter failures and some have turned out quite tasty! The recipe I am sharing today is one of the successes. I love this recipe because I can have a homemade meal in about 30 minutes; my husband loves this recipe because he loves anything with bread! 🙂

The biscuits are not regular biscuits – they are called drop biscuits. Literally, you mix everything in one bowl and plop spoonfuls of dough onto a baking sheet. They are not the most gorgeous things in the world, but they are super easy and delicious! Especially if you add a handful of cheese on top! You can get the recipe for them here. In a pinch, you can always use ready-made biscuits, but homemade ones have no preservatives or chemicals.

I use this recipe for my gravy. For the sausage, I use whatever I have on hand. I have used breakfast sausage before or italian sausage. It just depends on how spicy you like your gravy or what was on sale. 🙂  Also, I use about half a pound of sausage. It is plenty for the two of us with some left over for breakfast! A note about the recipe, once you bring the gravy to a boil let it cook for about two minutes. Then it will be about thick enough!

Enjoy!

Image

One of my cooking failures… I tried to make donuts without a donut pan. I had read online that you could use foil in a muffin tin if you didn’t have a donut pan… Yeah, didn’t work so great. But the donut-muffins were yummy!

Share your thoughts

