A God Who Does Not Change

ImageRecently, I have been studying contentment. Since it such a classic passage on contentment, I was studying this verse this morning:

“…being content with what you have; for He Himself has said, ‘I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you,’ so that we may confidently say, ‘The Lord is my helper, I will not be afraid. What will man do to me?'” ~ Hebrews 13:5, 6 

I learned that this passage is quoting Genesis 28:15 which says:

“Behold, I am with you and will keep you wherever you go, and will bring you back to this land; for I will not leave you until I have done what I have promised you.” 

We can be content {in whatever does or does not happen} because we can rest in the promises that God has given us. We trust that He has a perfect plan and that He will do what He has said. We need not be fearful because we are basing our hope on a God that does not change, not on circumstances or people that do change.

Here are some promises that comfort my heart that we can rest in today:

  • He who began a good work in you is faithful to complete it. Philippians 1:6
  • God causes all things to work together for good for those who love Him. Romans 8:28
  • God will supply all your needs. Philippians 4:19
  • God has promised to give wisdom to those who ask. James 1:5
  • All who call on the name of the Lord will be saved. Acts 2:21

What promise of the Lord brings comfort to your heart?

2 thoughts on “A God Who Does Not Change

  1. Matthew 11:28-29
    “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls”

  2. Pingback: What the Melonas Family is Up To… Besides Making a Mess | titus2minutes

Share your thoughts

