{The Best Dating Advice} I have Ever Received

Image

Photo of {us} by Carlyle Cullen

I read an article last week entitled “When the Not-Yet Married Meet: Dating to Display Jesus” by Marshall Segal. I have to say that it was probably one of the best articles on dating that I have ever read. Being past the dating stage now and happily married, I can vouch for the importance of setting boundaries and dating someone who shares your passion for Christ. However, I also realize that since I am married some single people might find that I am not as relatable. That is why I encourage you to read this blog post by a single guy.

That post inspired me to share with you a few pieces of advice that I received when my husband and I were dating. These are some of the things that made the biggest impact on my 2.5 year dating relationship with my husband:

  • Do not choose your spouse based upon their career. Their career can change – the businessman can become a missionary or the missionary could become a businessman. Choose your spouse based upon their heart for the Lord and your mutual passions for ministry. Women, choose someone who you are willing to follow wherever the Lord takes them. Men, choose someone who is willing to be your partner and supporter in whatever work and ministry the Lord gives you.
  • You cannot go backwards in a relationship. If you hold hands, you will keep holding hands. If you kiss, then you will continue to do so. This applies to the emotional as well as the physical. Set boundaries in the beginning. Take things slowly. Putting a restraint on things or stopping what you have already been doing is very difficult, so be careful.
  • If the person you are interested in/dating/pursuing is the right person for you, than there is nothing that you can {or cannot} do to change that they are the right person. This was a comfort for me when I was unsure how to handle things or wondering if I should text him or not. The Lord was in control and I cannot mess up His plan.

Ladies and gentleman, all this advice was from my parents. My best advice to you is to listen to your parents in your dating/courting relationship, especially if you have godly parents. They have a lot more wisdom and experience than you do. Be humble and willing to listen. Even if it does not make sense at first. Parents know what they are talking about! 🙂

Share your thoughts

