Book Review // The Excellent Wife

Image

My lunch break is usually the time that I get some reading done. I just finished The Excellent Wife by Martha Peace yesterday. While this book was not my favorite style of writing (a few too many charts for my taste), it still contains wonderful gems of truth. It is a book that would be incredibly practical for a wife who just became a Christian.

I especially appreciated her section on fear. After losing my job, I found it very applicable. She talks about how fear seems to accumulate when you are lying in bed in the middle of the night. You lay there thinking “What if this happened…? What if that happened…?” Martha Peace writes, “Fear operates like a floodgate opening and letting all the other sins loose.” When we do not keep our fear in check, it leads  to all sorts of other sins.

She pens that we are to remind ourselves of God’s Word and the promises that He has made. Knowing truth combats fear. Furthermore, when we know God’s word, then we can make wise decisions. I love her definition of wisdom. She says, “Wisdom is the ability to relate God’s truth to life situations.”  Filling our minds with truth allows us to not only keep our fear in check, but to live wisely in this world. If this is something you are struggling with, I would recommend reading the chapter “The Wife’s Fear.”

You can purchase the book here:  The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective
.

Connect with Me

On another note, I wanted to make you aware of some ways that you can connect with me and get to know a little more about me. See the links below:

For my testimony of how I came to know the Lord, click here

For a snapshot of my life, follow me on Instagram // 
http://instagram.com/cmariemelonas

For updates on my blog, follow me on Twitter // https://twitter.com/cmariemelonas

For more about what I like and what I am up to, find me on Pinterest // 

For connecting with me in the business world, join me on Linked In // www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-melonas/49/8a7/990/

For updates on my blog or to show your support, like my page on Facebook: 
https://www.facebook.com/titus2minutes

Thanks, friends!

One thought on “Book Review // The Excellent Wife

Share your thoughts

