My Soul Thirsts for You

image

Scripture filled my mind this past weekend! I couldn’t help but recall passages about creation and God’s glory when I viewed the beauty of Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon. The landscape was so breathtaking that I wondered how people could believe that this formed all by itself without some Master Designer. I marvel at the artistic ability of our Creator!

My husband and I went camping with my family this weekend and it was hot. It made the Psalms more vivid. I pictured the Israelites in the wilderness or David being pursued by Saul. Psalm 63 (my favorite Psalm) came to mind.

“O God, You are my God; I shall seek You earnestly; my soul thirsts for You, my flesh yearns for You, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.

How I long to have that affection and desire for God that the Psalmist did!

What response does God’s creation prompt in your heart?

2 thoughts on “My Soul Thirsts for You

  1. Loved this, Court! Especially your connection between the hot weather and the Psalms! Often when I go to the ocean and look at the waves I am astounded by their power and the fact that even the waves obey God! I also love how many hymns compare the ocean to God’s love (Oh The Deep Deep Love of Jesus and The Love of God to name a couple) which is vast, powerful, and all-encompassing. There are so many responses that creation prompts in me, but that was the most notable. 🙂

  2. Beautiful! I’m OFTEN in awe of the creativity of our God. He wouldn’t have had to make so many interesting, beautiful, and amazing things for us to enjoy, but He did. It makes my heart swell with praise.

    P.S. Our family hopes to take in Zion National Park this summer. Can’t wait!

Share your thoughts

