For the Sake of Christ // I Am Content

Image

People seem small in comparison to the size of a mountain.

Disappointment does not have to be ungodly. We see examples in Scripture of believers who handled disappointment in a godly manner. Paul is an example of this type of attitude. Three times Paul asked the Lord to remove his thorn in the flesh, but the Lord would not take it away. And what was Paul’s response? He said, “For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” Paul was content with what the Lord had given him – even though it was not his first choice – because he knew that his weakness displayed the Lord’s greatness.

Disappointment is held at bay by a high view of God and a low view of man. I have a high view of God. My high view of His sovereignty and complete control over everything sometimes tempts me to blame God for the ways things are in my life. I keep asking things like: “Why, Lord?” or “Why did this bad thing happen?” or “Why do I have to keep learning the same lesson over and over?” I realized this week that, while I had a high view of God, I did not have a low view of man. If I have a high view of God and a low view of man, I will realize that lowly little me does not deserve to know what the Almighty God has planned. I do not have the right to question His actions or motives.

John Piper talks about the closer we draw to the cross the bigger the Lord appears and the smaller we seem. Similarly, a mountain viewed from a distance does not seem that impressive. But as you draw closer, you behold the grandeur of its height. The same goes for your relationship with the Heavenly Father; draw closer to the Lord and you will recognize His grandeur and your insignificance.

In summary, there are three things that can help you to handle your disappointment in a godly manner.

  1. Stand on the promises of God’s Word and what you know to be true.
  2. Recognize your weakness displays God’s greatness.
  3. Have a high view of God and a low view of man.

Which of these three things is the most helpful to you in handling your disappointment?

 For further reading on this subject, I recommend this article from the True Woman website.

Share your thoughts

