One Week of Cooking with an Iron Skillet // Day Two

Image

“My name is Courtney, and I’m addicted to mac and cheese…” That is how the blog post about this macaroni and cheese started on Cook Like a Champion Blog. Since both of those things resonated with me, I thought that I would give this macaroni and cheese a try!

Courtney from Cook Like a Champion was right in her description of this dish!  She says:

This recipe stands on its own.  With white cheddar, Parmigiano-Reggiano and goat cheese, how could it not?  Sour cream and an egg yolk make this dish especially rich, while lemon zest (yes, you read that right) gives it a wonderful brightness I’ve never tasted in macaroni and cheese.  The addition of fresh thyme, my favorite herb, gives the mac and cheese a wonderful aroma and flavor.  The sweet onion is a welcome addition and adds texture to the pasta.  Decadent is the best way to describe this dish…

I don’t know about you, but my mouth started watering when I read that description! After trying it, the conclusion was that the recipe is delicious! However, if you a looking to lose a few pounds this recipe is not for you! This is not health food, despite my use of whole wheat pasta! Try it for yourself with the recipe below.

Image

Click Here for the Three Cheese Mac and Cheese Recipe

Tip of the Day: 

Do not wash your iron skillet with soap. It will ruin the seasoning on the pan. Use hot water and a sponge if necessary to get it clean.

One thought on “One Week of Cooking with an Iron Skillet // Day Two

Share your thoughts

