Countering Selfishness

IMG_207

When I am tempted to fuss and fret,

Because all my “needs” have not been met,

Or when I am prone to great despair,

Despite working hard life isn’t fair.

I realize I’ve come to believe the lie,

That the most important person in the world is, I.

My anger or my wallowing sorrow,

Results from the selfish attitude that I borrow.

When I let self my conscience cloud,

Fleshly rule has been allowed.

But to counter my naturally sinful bent,

I have a help that’s heaven-sent.

I dwell on His most precious blood,

And to my heart the joy does flood.

How can I help but praise and sing,

When dwelling on the selfless King?

 

 

Share your thoughts

